Information about South Sudan

Area: 619,745 km2Flag of South Sudan.

Population:  11,738,718 (2014)

Government: Federal Presidential Constitutional Republic

Currency: South Sudanese Pound

Capital City: Juba

Establishment: 9 July 2011

Time zone: East Africa Time – UTC+3

Language:  English (Official), native languages, Arabic

Ethnic groups: Dinka (40%), Nuer (20%), Kakwa, Bari, Azande, Shilluk, Anuak etc.

Religion: Christianity, indigenous religions, Islam

Calling code: +211


Great Britain and France had competed for colonies in the area of Sudan. Great Britain won. In March 1899 both countries reached an agreement on sphere of influence splitting along Congo and Nile. The area was divided in two parts, the Islamic and Arabian North and the Animistic and Christian tribal South. In 1956 Sudan achieved independence but it ended in civil war because of growing commotion between these two parts. In 1969 Sudan was led by Dzafar Muhammad an-Numairi, who was overthrown during the second civil war. It ended up in 2005 with a peace agreement from Nairobi constituting among others a referendum regarding the independence of South Sudan on 15 January 2011. A new country was established on 9 July as 98% of registered voters voted „yes“ for independence.

Interests: myths, legends, customs and historic knowledge are passed verbally by many of the South Sudanese.

More information about travelling to South Sudan on website: